I’ll be seeing you

Jeg spilte aldri Rickie Lee Jones’ «Pop Pop» for Tante. Men hadde jeg gjort det, tror jeg hun ville likt den. Hva hun syntes om at jeg har blitt så glad i å skrive på engelsk, se det er en annen sak.

whenever I tuck my keffiyeh around my neck, I think
of all you taught me about
politics

In all the old familiar places

whenever I open my Saturday newspaper, I think
of all the cut-outs I’ve received in the mail with
a handwritten comment on them

That this heart of mine embraces

whenever I open a tin of tea, I think
of you, scolding me for keeping tea bags in
the carton they came in
letting the air ruin the flavour

All day through.

traces of your life are scattered
all over mine
your clothes in my wardrobe
your earrings in my ears
your books in my bookshelves

whenever I turn around, unaware

I’ll be seeing you

Legg igjen en kommentar

Filed under Dikt

Legg igjen en kommentar